Australasian Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion


Although Australia had two perfusion societies, the Victorian Society Of Cardiovascular Perfusion and the the New South Wales Society of Cardiovascular Perfusion, providing educational meetings and scientific forums it had no national body.

In 1982 the Perfusionists of Australia decided to form a National Body. This culminated in the formation of the Australasian Society of Cardio-Vascular Perfusionists (ANZCP), whose membership included Perfusionists within Australia and New Zealand.

The Society had three main objectives:

  • To provide a means of scientific communication between Perfusionists.
  • To provide a regulatory body to uphold the standards of perfusion.
  • To provide, with formation of the ABCP, Certification through a common course in Perfusion  

In 1987 a referendum was held, for all Clinical Perfusionists within the Society to ascertain their opinion as to:  

  • The Structure of the ABCP and its members.
  • The proposed Grandfather Clause for Certification.
  • The entry requirements for the official Course.

The result of this referendum was that:  

  • The Australasian Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP) should be formed in collaboration with the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS), and the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the RACS, (now the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA)).
  • Representation would comprise two surgeons from the RACS, two anaesthetists from the ANZCA and three  Perfusionists from the Society (ANZCP).  
  • The Grandfather Clause was for current Perfusionists with 5 years experience and a minimum experience of 500 cases who could show, from their respective units, their clinical competency.
  • The desirable prerequisite for candidates taking the ABCP's course should be a Bachelor's Degree in Science. 
  • A special educational advisory group was set up by the Society to prepare the preliminary information so that it could initiate negotiations with the relevant Colleges

In 1989 the ABCP was formed with the following members:

Mr. J.V. Pastoriza-Pinol    ANZCP (Chairman)

Mr. S.Yarrow   ANZCP

Mr. P.Bernhardt  ANZCP

Prof. T.Cartmill  RACS

Mr. G.C.Shardey   RACS

Prof. B. Baker   ANZCA

Dr. R. Walsh  ANZCA

The ABCP's first Chairman, Mr. Don Pastoriza-Pinol, initiated the Grandfather Clause Certification, and in 1990, forty-eight Perfusionists were certified by this process.

While work proceeded with the official course, a second method of certification was initiated to cover those practising  Perfusionists who were ineligible for certification under the Grandfather Clause. This second system was certification by examination. The prerequisites were two years of perfusion with a minimum of 200 cases, and to show evidence from their unit of their clinical competency. The candidates sat a three-hour written certified by this process.

In determining the type of course and its subsequent construction, the ABCP had to consider the limited number of potential trainees and geographical distribution of cardiac units within Australia and New Zealand. it was thought unfair to expect candidates to travel to a training centre which could be 400Okm from their unit of employment and perhaps overseas. Thus, the course was designed as a combined theoretical/practical two-year postgraduate, assessed by a  multiple choice exam, followed by a one hour oral exam, before four ABCP Examiners. This system of certification continued until the official ABCP Structured Course for Clinical Perfusion started in 1993. Twenty Perfusionists enrolled in the program which could be conducted within the candidate's unit of employment.

The initial prerequisites were set as follows:

  • A Candidate must be employed as a trainee Perfusionist

  • A Candidate must have a BSc Degree (or equivalent)

  • Candidates must have assurances from their units to have time to study and attend tutorials with adequate resources and a Supervisor to manage their course.

·The Course is reviewed and modified as necessary each year. 

In 2002 the course was renamed the Australasian Diploma of Perfusion

In 2005 the ABCP in conjunction with the Swinburne University of Technology establish post graduate courses in Perfusion.

  • The Post Graduate Diploma in Science (Perfusion) and

  • The Masters in Science (Perfusion).


These courses were both established in July 2005.

In February 2006 Swinburne University enrols its first students into the new courses.

The current Diploma of Perfusion course support was ceased on December 31st 2008

ASCVP becomes Australian and New Zealand College of Perfusion, ANZCP, after a vote at the November 2006 AGM.

August 2008 sees first graduates from the Swinburne Masters Program

In November 2008 a motion was put at the ANZCP AGM to restructure the ABCP membership. This motion sought to reflect the changes that have occurred in Perfusion Education in Australa and New Zealand over the last nineteen years. The motion was put that Perfusionists be solely responsible for the training, education, nd registration of Perfusionists in Australia and New Zealand. THe motion was unanimously passed and the new ABCP now consists of only four members, who are all ANZCP fellows.